Standard

Love is Patient

when the same mistake is repeated the 624th time.

Love is kind

like a warm word, a soft hand to a cheek, like a gentle look or a warm hug.

And is not jealous

because what it has cannot be jeopardized or stolen away

Love does not brag and is not arrogant

it boasts in its purity and in its humility; a wordless celebration

Does not act unbecomingly

but remembers its identity and purpose

It does not seek out its own

your happiness is my happiness

Is not provoked

you can push my buttons but no alarm will go off

Does not keep records of wrongs

what wrongs?

Does not rejoice in unrighteousness

and only take joy in the things that lead to your permanent joy and peace

But delights in the truth

my lips will utter no lies to you

It is always ready to excuse

I will defend you not because I know your wrongs and think nothing of them, but because I know mine all too well

To trust

I entrust you with my greatest gift; my heart, not because you will never fail me, but because I am willing to always risk you

To hope

for despite the odds, with God I play with loaded dice

And to endure whatever comes

standing by you till my last breath will be an honor

Love will never end

I’m not going anywhere

But prophecies will pass, tongues will pass

Present truths and language and understanding have their expiration date

For our knowledge is partial

and our vision incomplete

But when the perfect comes, the partial will pass

love is the shadow of Heaven’s reality

When I was a child,

I spoke like a child,

Thought like a child

Argued like a child

“But mommy, I WANT IT! I WANT IT NOOOOW!!”

 

Now that I have become a man

I finished with childish ways

 

For now we see obscurely in a mirror, but then it will be face to face

Not I know partly; but then I will know fully, just as God has fully known me.

now I love you imperfectly, sketchy, erratically and inconsistently,

but I do it so one day

I shall understand the fullness of His love.

Be patient with me, for I am not yet how he intended me to be

But for now

Three things last

Trust,

Hope,

Love;

 

And the greatest of these is love.

 

Pursue love!

Chase after it till you can run no more.

(Adaptation of 1 Corinthians 13)

Leave a Reply

