Don’t kill a Nightingale

Standard

You cannot cage me

The freedom of the wind would not allow it,

the fields that stretch across my

heart would damn such a crime

How could it take part in murder?

For caging me would surely kill a song

Never kill a Nightingale

 

You cannot cage me.

 

Leave the window open and I shall return to you

and I shall fly back

only

don’t clip my wings with cynicism

You cannot cannot cage me

For an idea cannot be chained

nor can a dream be held down

Hope is not in the business of defeat

It does not belong to the earth

 

So kill the Mockingbird

Leave a Reply

